Day 182: Embroidery Day 8- Cross Stitch

Standard

Supplies: Fabric, embroidery thread, embroidery needle, embroidery hoop, scissors

Time: Varies

Number eight in the embroidery series is the simple cross stitch. I first learned counted cross stitch from my grandma when I was in middle school and I loved it. I still love to cross stitch, though I’ve noticed it’s a lot harder to find pattern kits these days. Luckily, you can make your own! There are even websites that will pixelate your images into a cross stitch pattern. I prefer to cross stitch on Aida cloth since I don’t have the ability to made even cross stitches freehand, but steps are the same either way.

For the cross stitch you’ll be using two rows. My numbering is kind of strange on this one, but it should be easy to understand anyway. Bring the thread up through hole 1.

Bring the thread back down through hole 4 making the first half of an x.

Bring the thread back up through hole 3.

Then back down through hole 5.

Continue across the row so you have half of the x’s complete.

Then start at the other end of the row and come back up through hole 13.

Go back down through hole 12, crossing the first x.

Continue across the row until all of your x’s are crossed.

That’s it! When I started cross stitching I wanted the instant gratification of a finished x, so I didn’t go all the way across the row before turning back and crossing the x’s. It works, but it’s not as neat and it actually takes a bit longer. Go try some cross stitch. It’s almost like magic!

Best,

Alie

Leave a Reply

