Day 180: Embroidery Day 6- Split Stitch

Standard

Supplies: Fabric, embroidery thread, embroidery needle, embroidery hoop, scissors

Time: Varies

The next stitch in the straight stitch tutorial series is the split stitch, which is the first stitch I learned. It’s really pretty and I like it a lot. I use it almost as much as I use the lovely stem stitch.

Pull the thread up through hole 1.

Pull the thread back down through hole 3.

Pull the thread back up through hole 2, but make sure the needle is in between the fibers. It’s called the split stitch because you split the previous thread with the next stitch.

Pull the thread back down through hole 4.

Then come back up through hole three and the thread from the previous stitch.

Continue this process until you finish your line of embroidery.

This stitch is beautiful because it looks a lot like a braid. Like the stem stitch, I don’t recommend using this stitch for small lettering. It’s actually not ideal for any lettering because it’s hard to curve accurately. Like I mentioned, this was the first stitch I learned. It was the one that got me hooked on embroidery and it holds a special place in the embroidery section of my heart. Give it a try and it might do the same for you!

Best,

Alie

Leave a Reply

