Day 164: Beaded Wire Earrings

Standard

Supplies: Craft wire, seed beads, needle nose pliers, wire cutters, earring hooks

Time: 30-40 minutes

I’ve been sorting through my various craft storage areas lately trying to get rid of things I don’t need. My craft supplies take up a lot of space and I need to consolidate. During this drawer dig I came across an Altoid tin full of seed beads. I also have a spool of craft wire, so I immediately decided to combine the two to make earrings. They’re surprisingly easy to make and you can easily change them up to suite your fancy.

I started by cutting two pieces of wire about 5-6 inches long.


Then I bent one end of the wire into a loop to keep the beads from falling off and starting stringing seed beads. I used the unbent end to pick up the beads and held them on with my fingers.

 

When both pieces of wire were beaded I folded them into tear drop shapes and twisted the loose wire together.

 

Then I slipped earring hooks onto the wire and twisted the wire together again. I used wire cutters to trim the ends and made sure the wire was in a nice tear drop shape.

 

And there you go! I would really like to try a pair of these in some kind of polygon shape. I’d also like to make a pair with smaller tear drops made with different colored beads in the center. Just go nuts with these! Have fun!

Best,

Alie

One response »

  1. I once tried to make a pair like this and then hung seashells I collected in Florida in the middle. They would have been awesome except they were just too big. And I must not have had the right wire because after a bit they became deformed…I will have to try again!

Leave a Reply

