Day 154: New Year’s Eve Party Blowers

Standard

Supplies: Scrapbook paper, ruler, pencil, X-acto knife or scissors, tape, drinking straws

Time: 20 minutes

Happy New Year everyone!  This year I was off work on New Year’s Eve for the first time in several years and I took advantage of it by actually celebrating.  After having snacks with my parents and a couple close family friends in the late afternoon I headed over to my friend Lisa’s parents’ house for an evening of games and a bonfire.  It was a great time and I haven’t laughed so hard in a long time!  But we obviously needed something to help us celebrate at midnight, so before I left I whipped up some party blowers!  These festive goodies were inspired by a post I saw on Pinterest awhile back, but I made a few changes.

I started by cutting 9″x2″ strips of scrapbook paper.

Then I cut some drinking straws (one for each strip of paper) to 5″.

Then I folded each strip of paper into approximate thirds lengthwise.  The thirds don’t have to be even.  The outer thirds just need to overlap a bit.  Tape the strip of paper closed along the folded thirds.

I folded one short end of each strip over and taped it down.  This will be the closed end and the other end will attach to the straw.

Speaking of attaching the straws, that’s the next step!  Slip a straw into the open end of a paper tube, fold the corners over and tape the two pieces together.  Then roll the paper around a pen starting with the non-straw end.

If you don’t think your party guests would like you to have your mouth on their party blowers you might want a little hot water for cleaning because the next step is testing.  Blow into each party blower to check for air leaks.  If you find any just add a little more tape!  That’s the best way to fix things in my book!

These unroll wonderfully, but they don’t really roll back up very well.  But they’re still fun and festive and people will love that you made them.  Here they are in action!

The newlyweds ring in the new year! With her brother and dog in the background...

I hope everyone had a fun and safe evening!  Happy New Year!  Here’s to a great 2012!

Best,

Alie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

