Day 153: Fabric Push Pins

Standard

Supplies: Fabric, small button blanks, fabric scissors, thumb tacks, E-6000

Time: 45 minutes plus drying time (varies based on the number of pins you make)

If you’ve been reading for awhile you probably know that I have a thing for fabric buttons.  I particularly love them in earring form, but today I wanted to mix it up a little.  So I went to the store and bought some smaller button blanks and a bunch of push pins to make my own set of pretty push pins!

I used a bit of one of the fat quarters I bought a Purl Soho to cover these buttons.  This fabric is so simple, but I love it!  It’s very I Love Lucy.  In fact, I think Lucy had a dress made from this very fabric.  The Ricardos did live in New York after all…  Anyway,  I covered my button blanks in fabric and used wire cutters to cut of the button shafts.

Here’s a note about making fabric buttons: if the rubber base is slightly larger than the blanks you have (my blanks didn’t come with one) you can put a piece of felt in first and it’ll work!

Then use E-6000 or another craft glue to attach the push pin tops to the backs of the buttons.

When the glue is completely dry you’re ready to use your cool new push pins!

I love these pins, but I’m going to try to come up with another kind of snazzy push pin.  Button blanks are a little too expensive to make all of your push pins fabric-covered.  Mod Podge perhaps?  But for now I hope you have fun with these fabric pins.  Hang up those Christmas cards or something!

Best,

Alie

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

