Day 149: Chalkboard Mugs

Standard

Supplies: Mugs, chalkboard ceramic paint or ceramic paint (any color) and a little grout (here’s the tutorial), foam brush, painter’s tape (optional)

Time: 15 minutes to make plus time to bake the paint

First, I want to apologize for the lack of pictures today.  There aren’t really many steps to show on this project and I made these right before I left for my trip.  I mean, they were still too hot to touch when I packed them.  But they made it safely to New York and tonight cousin Gabi had a mug of hot chocolate in one of the mugs with some homemade marshmallows.  I’ve been wanting to use ceramic paint for some time now, so I thought chalkboard mugs would be the ultimate way to kick off my relationship with ceramic paint.

I couldn’t find ceramic chalkboard paint at the store, so I just bought black ceramic paint and added grout to make my own chalkboard paint.  I was a little worried the DIY chalkboard paint wouldn’t work with ceramic paint, but I’m here to tell you it does!

I mixed up my paint, loaded up my foam brush, and painted a stripe near the rim of each of three mugs.  I wanted the paint to look like a brush stroke, so I didn’t use painter’s tape, but you could easily use tape to create a straight line or any design you want!  I used two coats to completely cover the mug.  Then I followed the instructions on my paint bottle and baked the mugs to secure the paint.

Let the mugs cool completely and have fun writing on your drink!  Also, make sure you read the instructions and warnings on the paint bottle.  I think most kinds of ceramic paint are not supposed to be in contact with the actual food product, so you wouldn’t want to do this on a plate.  I’m going to do some more research about ceramic paints.  I’d love to add a personal touch to my plain white plates.

Best,

Alie

 

 

Leave a Reply

