Day 148: Homemade Marshmallows

Standard

Supplies: Large bowl, mixer, large saucepan, silicon spatula, measuring cups/spoons, candy thermometer, this recipe

Time: An hour or two (I didn’t really keep track)

Merry Christmas!  I hope everyone had a lovely holiday.  I certainly did.  This morning (only after enjoying a breakfast of chocolate Santas) cousin Gabi and I exchanged gifts.  I got two lovely Moleskine notebooks and a really nice pen that I’ve already used to do several crosswords today!  And Gabi got today’s craft!  Homemade marshmallows (with a mug and hot cocoa mix)!  I first got the urge to make homemade marshmallows about a year ago when I saw this video.  I’m not sure why, but somehow I didn’t actually do it until last week!  It’s really kind of magical to see a syrup become marshmallows.  Here’s how it’s done (and watch the video because it’s very cute!).  

Combine the sugar, corn syrup, and 1/4 cup water in a saucepan and stir.  Pop in the candy thermometer and cook the sugar over high heat until it reaches 240°F.

Combine two packets of gelatin and 6 Tbsp water in a large mixing bowl.  Pour the hot sugar into the bowl and start whipping it.  When I got ready to whip the sugar I found that my hand mixer was dead.  So I sat on the couch with a blanket in my lap and the bowl of hot sugar on the blanket and I whisked by hand… for about five minutes.  Then I remembered I have a stick blender with a whisk attachment!  Whipping the sugar that way took about 10-15 minutes, so I can’t even imagine whipping this by hand.  Though I did make a chocolate mousse by hand once…  It can be done, but I don’t recommend it.

By hand at the beginning.

 

Then much more easily with the stick blender.

Whip the sugar until it gets white and looks like marshmallow creme.  Add the peppermint extract and mix it in thoroughly.  Then pour the mixture into a parchment-lined and cooking-sprayed pan (I believe mine was 9″x9″).

Spray the top of the marshmallows with cooking spray and cover them with another piece of parchment.  Leave them on the counter overnight so the gelatin can do its stuff.  The next day you should be able to turn the sheet of marshmallow onto a greased plate pretty easily.  You may have to use your fingers a bit.

Use a pair of greased kitchen shears to cut the huge marshmallow sheet into lots of small square(ish) marshmallows.  Then combine equal parts cornstarch and powdered sugar in a small bowl and coat each marshmallow in the mixture.

Store them in an airtight container to keep them fresh.  Then you can whip up your favorite hot chocolate and enjoy your homemade peppermint marshmallows!

Yum!  I’m going to test this recipe with a vegetarian gelatin substitute for my fellow veggies soon.  I have to admit, I did cheat a tiny bit and taste one (I threw the other two in the mug away).  You can’t give someone a food gift without tasting it!  If you have Monday off I hope you cuddle up with a nice mug of cocoa and have a relaxing day!

Merry Christmas,

Alie

Recap: Here’s the written recipe and here’s the video!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 149: Chalkboard Mugs « Daily Craft Project

Leave a Reply

