Day 147: Glass Bingo Magnets

Standard

Supplies: Magnets, glass beads (the kind with a flat bottom and a round top), mod podge, foam brush, pen, craft glue or hot glue, scissors

Time: 20 minutes to make, a few hours to dry

Bingo has always been kind of a thing in my family.  It’s not because any of us like to play bingo.  It’s because my grandma has worked bingo at the VFW as long as I can remember.  I don’t know when she and my grandpa started volunteering to sell bingo cards and whatnot, but they were truly devoted.  If your birthday happens to land on a Thursday you’d better tell Grandma about your plans at least a month before if you want her to make it.  And while reading through one of her old travel journals my brother and I noticed she had noted that each Thursday of the vacation was a bingo night they were missing.  My brother’s present to me for my 16th birthday was a game of bingo at the VFW (before 16 you’re not allowed in).  The point of all that bingo chatter is this:  when I saw a bingo card scrapbook paper at the store recently I had this unreasonable need to get it and use it for something.  And soon!  Clearly, this paper needed to be displayed prominently in my home, so I decided to make magnets with it.

I started by tracing one glass bead onto the back of the awesome bingo paper.  I didn’t care if the paper was exactly the right size (tracing around the outside made the circles a little big anyway), so I just estimated the rest of the circles.  Then I cut them all out.

I brushed a layer of Mod Podge onto the flat side of a glass bead (by the way, I’m calling them beads, but they don’t have holes in them) and pressed a bingo circle onto the back.  Once all of my beads were backed with paper I went to bed and let them dry.  When they were nice and dry I used a pair of tiny scissors to trim any excess paper.

Apparently I forgot to take a picture of this next step.  I glued a magnet to the back of each bead using E-6000 glue.  I think hot glue would work just as well.  Here’s a tip: make sure you get the right magnet size!  I looked at the magnets and thought, ‘hey, these look like the right size’! They were not.  They were a bit too big, so I cut them into quarters with strong scissors (I happened to get the flexible kind of magnet).  The magnets don’t look quite as nice as they would have whole, but you don’t see the backs of magnets much.

Now I have a bunch of cute little bingo magnets on my fridge!  My magnet collection just increased by about 1000%.

It’s down to the wire now, but this would make a nice little personalized Christmas gift!  So if you’ve been procrastinating here’s your quick fix!

Now get to bed so Santa can bring you some awesome crafty goodness 🙂

Merry Christmas,

Alie

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

