Day 144: Fabric Pendant Necklace

Standard

Supplies: Cool fabric, fabric scissors, regular scissors, thin cardboard, 1 bail, necklace chain, needle and thread

Time: 20-30 minutes

Earrings are my favorite piece of jewelry, but necklaces are a close second.  They are such a great opportunity to showcase special things right near your face.  A cool pendant is always eye-catching and can even be a great conversation starter (usually a crafty discussion!).  So when I saw this pendant that combines cool pendants and awesome fabric I knew I had to make one.  It’s quite simple and it involves hand sewing, which I find to be a very satisfying activity.

Start by cutting a tear drop shape from thin cardboard.  I used cardboard from a cereal box and cut two layers because I didn’t have a slightly thicker cardboard.  You could actually make any shape, but I decided to go with a tear drop.  In the future I’ll probably use a template.  My tear drop wasn’t quite right…

 

Cover the cardboard between two pieces of fabric.  I was originally going to use some spray adhesive to hold the fabric in place even better, but that always gets all over my hands, so I skipped it.  I think it might not look quite as good with the glue anyway.  Stitch around the cardboard with a complimentary thread and tie it off in the back.

Use fabric scissors to cut around the edges of the cardboard.  Leave a tiny bit of fabric outside the stitches.

Then attach the bail.  Poke a hole in the top of the pendant with a large needle, X-acto knife, or awl if you have one.  I just used a needle.  Then poke the bail through the top and secure it tightly.

Thread the new pendant onto a chain and wear it proudly!  If you want a softer look or you just don’t want to use a bail you can make a little ribbon loop.  I haven’t tried this (though I plan to), but I suggest gluing a small loop of ribbon to the back of the cardboard before you cover it with fabric.  Play around and make your pendant your own!

Tomorrow morning I leave for New York for a week so I can hopefully find an apartment and move there permanently.  I know of several craft stores (pictures will come!) with awesome fabric sections and I can’t wait to find a few awesome fabrics for more pendants!  I’ve been crafting up a storm for the last week, so daily posts will continue!  Back tomorrow!

~Alie

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

