Day 143: Monogram Tile Coasters

Standard

Supplies: 4×4 tiles, stick on felt feet, masking tape, printed letters, paint, foam brush, ruler, X-acto knife, scrapbook paper, cutting surface, Mod Podge

 

Time: 40 minutes to make, several hours to dry

Over the weekend I was lucky enough to enjoy my friend Lisa’s wedding.  So at the end of last week I was busily working on her wedding present.  I’ve known for some time that I wanted to make tile coasters for their wedding.  I made a set of monogram coasters and a set of picture coasters.  Unfortunately, the picture coasters melted together while I was riding the very very warm Megabus to Chicago.  I will be making a new set of those for them soon.  They looked beautiful when they weren’t ruined though!  So here’s how to make the monogram coasters.

Start by tracing your tiles onto the back of a piece of scrapbook paper.  I used one paper for Lisa’s coasters and another for Adam’s coasters.  Use a ruler and X-acto knife to cut the squares.  Cut a little bit inside the lines or the paper will be too big.

Then it’s time to make the stencils.  Cover one tile with strips of masking tape.

Then tape one of your letters to the tape-covered tile.

Use an X-acto knife to cut out the letter.  Make sure you cut through the paper and the tape.

Remove the paper from the tape.  Then gently peel the tape letter off of the tile and stick it to the center of one of your paper squares.  Peel the rest of the tape off of the tile and stick that to the other paper square.  You’ll have a positive/negative space thing going.

Then use a foam brush to paint over the stencil with coordinating paint color.  I wanted my letters to be subtle, so I used a light coating of a sheer gold paint.  I’m not sure how well the paper would stay on the coasters if you used a lot of paint, but I think it would work fine.  I might try some eventually.

When the paint is dry you’ll peel the tape off of the paper.  You’ll be left with one painted letter and one empty letter surrounded by paint.

At this point I want to apologize for the poor picture quality.  I thought I had better pictures of the finished coasters, but apparently I didn’t take any and I didn’t realize it until the coasters were already out of my possession.  Hopefully the point comes across okay.

Anyway, next you’ll brush some Mod Podge onto one tile with a foam brush.  Then center the paper on the tile and stick it down.  Make sure the edges aren’t sticking up.  When that dries you can start coating the top with Mod Podge.  Use at least four coats of Mod Podge.  Each one should be dry before the next one is added.

When everything is dry stick felt feet onto the bottoms of your coasters.  Voila!  New coasters that no one else in the world has!

To make up for the poor picture quality I’ll leave you with a picture from the wedding.  Here’s a table from the reception hall.  Please note the lovely napkins folded into the diamond fold.  My friends wanted me to make the napkins my craft for the wedding day!  Also, the beer on the table was brewed by Lisa’s dad (300 bottles!) and wedding beer labels were made by the groom’s brother.  It looked amazing!

I’ll update this post with a picture of the remade coasters when I make them!

Best,

Alie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

