Day 108: Reverse Appliqué Pin Cushion- Giveaway!

Standard

Supplies: 2 contrasting fabrics, fabric scissors, straight pins, sewing machine, stuffing, needle/thread

Time: 30 minutes

I really enjoy appliques.  They’re a great way to add something special to pillows, blankets, bags, and other things that start with b.  I like being able to be detailed while making the applique and attaching it to one of the simple sewing projects I actually know how to do.  I recently saw a picture with the caption “reverse applique” and I knew I wanted to try it.  It’s not quite as exciting to make as my beloved felt appliques, but it looks quite lovely!

Pick one fabric to be the main fabric (I chose brown) and draw a design on the wrong side of the fabric.  If you do letters or numbers they should be backwards.  I just did a simple flower.

Turn the right side of the main fabric up and place a piece of contrasting fabric underneath the cutout.  It should be large enough to cover the entire cutout (obviously) and you should have enough extra contrast fabric to be able to sew around the whole shape.  The fabric in place.

Take it to the sewing machine and sew around the cutout, leaving about 1/8” seam allowance.  My machine was already threaded with green thread and I didn’t want to buy new thread, so I just used the green.  I like a nice contrasting thread!

Trim any unevenness on the inside of the seam to make things look nice and smooth.  Then cut the applique fabric and another piece of fabric for the back into even squares (or any shape you like actually).  Pin them, right sides together, and sew them together like a pillow, leaving a couple inches of open space for stuffing.  Then turn the pouch inside out and fill it with stuffing.  You want to stuff it really full so it’s firm enough to be a pin cushion.

Use a needle and thread to make an invisible seam along the open edge and you’ve got a new reverse applique pin cushion!

I don’t actually use pin cushions much.  When I sew I like to just keep my straight pins in the little plastic box they came in.  But if anyone reading likes this pin cushion enough to want it please leave a comment and you might win it!

Happy pinning!

~Alie

One response »

Leave a Reply

