Day 96: Caramel Apples!

Standard

Supplies: Apples, caramels, non-stick saucepan, silicon spatula, popsicle sticks, parchment paper or wax paper, cooking spray for safe measure

Time: 45 minutes

As you may have heard if you’ve been reading for awhile, I love fall! Today was rainy with a high of 50°, so it was a little more wintery (I love winter too actually- better cold than hot!). But it’s still technically fall, so I thought I’d make a staple of fall snacks: caramel apples! (My favorite apple treat is actually hot cider, which I got and enjoyed while blogging last night!) It’s probably pretty self explanatory, but I really wanted to make caramel apples and I thought I’d share the experience with you.

I started by unwrapping lots of little caramels and putting them in a non-stick pan!

I melted the caramel on medium-low heat. It takes awhile to start melting, but it’ll do it eventually. Just make sure you keep the temperature nice and low so the caramel stays chewy. If it gets too hot it’ll harden into hard candy.

I forgot to get popsicle sticks, so I just stabbed my apples with table knives.

Then I stuck one apple into the caramel.

I used the spatula to scoop up the caramel and cover the apple completely.

I let all the caramel drip off and plopped the apple down on a piece of parchment sprayed with cooking spray.

I haven’t had a caramel apple in several years and these are calling my name! They still need to cool, so I’ll have to wait. But I know the apples are good and I know the caramels are good, so I know the caramel apples will be good too!

Happy apple season!

~Alie

Leave a Reply

