Day 86: Fall Twig Candles

Standard

Supplies: Candle holder, sticks, hot glue, candle, string/twine (optional)

Time: 20 minutes

Time for another lovely fall decorative project!  This one was inspired by a picture I saw on Craftgawker.  By the way, have you checked out Craftgawker yet?  Because you really should.  Anyway, now that I don’t live in an apartment that was previously occupied by an indoor smoker I don’t have to worry about burning smelly candles for a practical purpose, but that doesn’t mean they’re not pretty.  So here’s a simple little candle holder project.

Get a candle holder of some sort.  It can be any size, but it should have straight sides and needs to be taller than the candle you’re going to put in it (you know, so the sticks don’t catch fire).

I forgot to mention this is a practical craft!  It uses sticks, so you 1) don’t have to buy one of the supplies, and 2) have a fun excuse to pick up the sticks in your yard.  So go out and get some sticks out of your yard.  They should be pretty straight, but it’s not terribly crucial.  Break the sticks into pieces that are slightly taller than the sides of your candle holder and start hot gluing them on.

Keep going all the way around the candle holder.  If there are any empty spaces between sticks that you don’t like you can layer sticks a little.  Just do what you need to do to make it look nice.

When I was gathering the supplies for this project I noticed the wrapping twine I got for Hardware Week and decided to use it.  I cut three lengths of twine…

and braided them loosely.  Then I tied the braid around the sticks to make them look like a nice little bundle.

And that’s it!  Time for a candle.  Here’s my lovely new candle holder in the dark.

And in the light.

I planned to make two of these, but I didn’t find enough sticks.  Now I’m trying to think of something else to do with my second candle holder.  Any suggestions?

~Alie

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 90: Twine Candle Holder « Daily Craft Project

Leave a Reply

