Day 73: Embroidery Hoop Button Clock

Standard

Supplies: Embroidery hoop, solid fabric, thin cardboard, scissors, 12 buttons, embroidery floss, needle, hot glue, clock  mechanics

Time: 45 minutes-1 hour

If I had money to spare I can tell you two things I’d want to collect.  Buttons and clocks.  So when I saw this post a month or so ago I really wanted to make one.  I’ve been looking for clock mechanics since I first saw the idea, but I couldn’t find them.  I ended up buying a cheap-o clock and pulling it apart (I just looked at the tutorial rather than the whole picture and that’s what it suggests in the first place- should have just read that).  It’s really quite simple to make.

Start by tracing the inside of your embroidery hoop on a piece of cardboard and cutting it out.

Then stretch some solid colored fabric across your embroidery hoop.

Select a cool assortment of buttons for your clock.  You can use twelve of the same button or twelve different buttons.  It’s completely up to you.  Then sew each button onto the fabric in clock number positions.

Next, glue the cardboard circle onto the back of the fabric.  My fabric was pretty thin and the glue would probably show through the front, so I put the glue on the backs of the buttons.  It doesn’t have to be super sturdy, it’s just a little support for the clock parts.

Now poke a hole through the center of the fabric and the cardboard.  I used some sharp scissors.

Depending on the size of your embroidery hoop you may need to shorten the clock’s hands.  I shortened and painted mine to make them look nicer.

Then you just stick the clock part through the hole and reattach the hands.  Pop in a battery and you have a brand new one-of-a-kind clock!

I put it on my wall and now I have the very small beginnings of a clock collection!

 

And now, on a celebratory note, I would like to wish a very happy 1st second birthday to my wonderful brother Ryan.  A year ago today, almost to the hour, Ryan and I became even closer when my stem cells were pumped into him.  It’s been quite a year for my family and I know we’re all very thankful for each other.  I am very lucky to have such an amazing and loving family!  And a big hooray for scientific advances to boot!

That's me and Ryan as stem cells surrounded by hearts with our parents' and Matt's initials.

~Alie

Leave a Reply

