Day 72: Aluminum Foil Roses

Standard

Supplies: Aluminum foil, hot glue, ribbon (at least 1/2” wide), scissors

20111010-193547.jpg

Time: 20 minutes

Does anyone else wish it was still “tin” foil instead of “aluminum” foil?  I don’t recall a time when it was called tin foil- I probably wasn’t alive yet.  Still, it’s such a nice, short term that just sounds so much better.  Oh well, I guess it’s more fun to hear the British say “aluminum” than “tin”.  That pondering leads me to today’s craft.  It’s a rose made of aluminum foil.  It’s pretty easy to make, though definitely not my favorite flower I’ve made.  I found the original project in French here.  Between my vague French abilities and the pictures provided I was able to figure out what to do.  I must admit, however, that this was not my most successful craft.  I’ve had a headache all day, and I rushed a bit.  This, of course, led to me not reading the obvious first instruction to fold the foil into a strip, about 1.5cm wide.  Mine was a bit bigger.  I also didn’t have the right size ribbon in a solid color, so that was a problem.  So don’t judge this project based on my attempt alone.  But let this be a lesson to me and to everyone out there: 1) Look at the supply list before you start and 2) For the love of everything in the world just read the instructions!  But, at the same time, don’t be afraid to experiment.  I guess the moral of this long story is, it never hurts to try something different, but don’t be upset if it doesn’t work.

So, without further ado here’s how to make the foil rose!  (Finally, right?)

Fold a piece of foil into a long strip.  The strip should be about 1/2” wide.

Then glue the end of a piece of ribbon to one end of the foil strip.  The ribbon should be at least 1/2” wide.  Like I mentioned above, I used little bitty ribbon because it was the only solid color ribbon I had.  It doesn’t work friends.  Don’t do it.

Then wrap the ribbon around the entire strip of foil, overlapping each layer.

When you finish wrapping you’ll have a strip with the look of pretty ribbon and the malleability of foil.

Wrap the strip into a little spiral and glue the end.

Then you’ll just adjust the layers of the flower to make it more rose-like.

Another note: don’t forget to trim any foil that shows at the ends of the strips.  You can see a little foil peeking through at the center of my rose.

Not a beautiful rose, but not horrible either.  At least I learned something.  I’m going supply shopping tonight, so I won’t be without the supplies I need again this week!

~Alie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

