Day 70: Fall Fabric Wreath

Standard

Supplies: Styrofoam wreath form, fabric, scissors, hot glue, yarn

Time: 20 minutes

I’ve seen a lot of fabric wreaths on the internet lately and today I thought I’d make one of my own.  My front door is metal, so I’ll have to use a Command strip hook to hold up my wreath.  I hope it stays put!  I want a festive fall door since the weather this week has been in the 80’s (aka- not fall temperatures).

Pick a fabric that matches the theme you’re going for or you just think looks nice.  Cut a small slit in the fabric about 1 1/2”-2” over.

Then pull the fabric on each side of the slit to rip a big strip of fabric.  This creates a frayed edge that looks nice for a fall wreath.  If you’d rather not have fraying on your wreath you can just cut the strips.

Now it’s time to start wrapping the wreath.  Pick a side to be the back of the wreath and glue the end of one strip of fabric to it.

Then wrap the fabric strip around the wreath form.  When you get to the end of the strip of fabric, glue the end down, glue the next strip on top, and keep wrapping.  Just make sure that all of your gluing takes place on the back side of the wreath.  When I got all the way around the wreath I had quite a bit of fabric left, so I wrapped it in the same place to make a little top part.  It’s hard to explain, but you’ll see it in the picture.

Then it was time to add a little decoration to the wreath.  I wrapped a little bit of brown t-shirt yarn (any yarn works though) around near the bottom of the wreath and then got ready to add a flower.  I cut a few lengths of yarn (about 2 1/2” long) and made a spiral out of yarn.

I used hot glue to attach the short yarn lengths to the yarn-wrapped part of the wreath in little petal loops.

Then I glued the spiral into the middle of the petals to make a nice little flower.

I thought about adding more at this point, but I decided to call it good.  I tied a piece of yarn around the top of the wreath for hanging, stuck the command strip to the front door, and put out my new wreath.

Actually, I took the wreath down right after that picture.  I have to let the command strip stick!  It’ll be back up in 24 hours though!

~Alie

One response »

Leave a Reply

