Day 52: Hair Bows

Standard

Supplies: 22 inches medium width ribbon, ruler, scissors, hot glue, hair clips

20110920-050958.jpg

Time: 15 minutes

I look just like my parents.  When I was little everyone told me how much I looked like my mom and I clearly inherited a lot of traits from my dad.  The only thing that doesn’t fit in is my hair.  It’s dark brown like my parents’ and my brother’s, but it’s super fine and stick straight, while theirs is wavy and thick.  I’ve always liked my hair, but it’s a pain when nothing will stay in it.  One of the few things that doesn’t slide out of my hair the second I put it in is spring clip.  So, clearly, I was excited when saw a picture of a DIY hair bow on one of those clips.  I’m wearing the clip as I type!  It’s very easy to make.

Start by taking the spring part off of the clip.  It’s thin metal, so if you squeeze it a little it’ll come out nicely.

20110920-051022.jpg

Pick a pretty fabric ribbon and cut a 20” length and a 2” length.  Put the 2” piece to the side for now.  Glue the ends of the 20” ribbon together so you have a big circle of ribbon.

20110920-051046.jpg

Somehow I didn’t get a picture of the next step, but it’s easy enough.  Glue one end of the 2” ribbon to the inside of the clip.  If you look at the first picture of the clip above  that’s where you want to glue.  When the clip is upside down you want the patterned side of the ribbon to be facing up.

Next, fold the long ribbon that you glued earlier in half.  I didn’t get a picture of this step with the blue ribbon, but here’s one from another (prettier) ribbon.  Make sure the seam is on the inside of the fold so it doesn’t show.

20110920-051221.jpg

Now put a line of glue on the top of the clip and glue the folded ribbon to it.  Then wrap the 2” ribbon around it.  You want it to be tight, but the bow should also look nice.  Tuck and fold the 20” ribbon as necessary to make it look nice.  This picture actually illustrates the step I missed pretty well.

20110920-051133.jpg

Glue the free end of the 2” ribbon on the bottom of the clip to secure the bow.

20110920-051156.jpg

Now you can put the piece of the clip you removed earlier back in place.

20110920-051310.jpg

Turn the clip over and you’ve got a lovely hair clip!

20110920-051330.jpg

I attempted to take a picture of the bow in my hair.  Unfortunately, my hair was wet and not looking too cute.  You get the idea though.  Have fun making some awesome bows!

20110920-051416.jpg

~Alie

Leave a Reply

