Day 44: Felt Flowers

Standard

Supplies: Felt, large coin for tracing, pen or sharpie for tracing, fabric scissors, embroidery thread, needle, hot glue, button or pom pom or something for the middle of the flower.

20110912-082448.jpg

Time: 15 minutes

Today I made flowers for yesterday’s giant inspiration board! The corners on my board are not that pretty and they could be helped out a lot by just a little embellishment. I found this great tutorial and I’ve been wanting to make these flowers for awhile.

You start these simple flowers by tracing a large coin (I used a Susan B. Anthony) seven times on your felt. Seven circles will make one flower.

20110912-083744.jpg

Then cut out each of the circles. Try to get all the markings off. There’s a marker out there that’s made for embroidery that fades after awhile do you aren’t left with marks. I might get one someday, but a good old black sharpie is probably fine for this.

20110912-084150.jpg

Fold one circle in half and poke a threaded and knotted needle through one end.

20110912-084254.jpg

Do the same with the rest of the circles.

20110912-084730.jpg

Then you’ll loop the thread around by pulling the needle back through the petals again. Pull them tight.

20110912-084926.jpg

Tie the string and flip over your new flower!

20110912-085105.jpg

Then you can either be done or glue something in the center. I glued a white pom pom into mine and then made another flower. I’m going to make some in other colors to finish off my pretty wall!

20110912-085929.jpg

And now I’m going to make a promise. I seem to make too many flowers, so I hereby promise not to make any flowers for a week. Promise!

~Alie

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 83: Spruced Up Hair Clip « Daily Craft Project

Leave a Reply

