Day 43: Giant Inspiration Board

Standard

Supplies: Thin rope, nails, clothes pins, hammer, big empty wall

20110911-084629.jpg

Time: 15 minutes

I’m finished moving! Everything is downstairs and ready to be put away. My apartment is kind of like a studio with a partial wall (no door) separating the front living room and back bedroom. Last night I decided to try out putting my bed in the part of the living room where my craft stuff used to be and making the bedroom a craft room. I got my furniture (mostly) in place and decided to make a giant version of this:

20110911-085521.jpg

Since I had a nice empty wall I figured it would be the perfect place for an inspiration board. I started by nailing the end of a piece of thin rope to the wall probably 7 feet off the floor.

20110911-085237.jpg

Then I went across the wall and down a little with the rope and nailed that part into the wall.

20110911-085616.jpg

I kept going across the wall until I was a couple feet from the floor.

20110911-085658.jpg

Then I went back the other way to make a lace-up looking thing like this:

20110911-090041.jpg

I covered it with clothes pins…

20110911-090121.jpg

and then added a few things I’ve made and things that inspire me.

20110911-090202.jpg

I’ll keep clipping things on as I unpack and I’m going to make some kind of decoration to put on the corners when I find the materials. I’m excited to start making my wall pretty! You could make this on a smaller scale too using string and a board or something. The ribbons on a ribbon board are actually tight enough that you can slide things under the ribbons to hold them in place, but you can adapt the idea as you like. It’s a nice way to display things!

Best,

Alie

Leave a Reply

