Day 29: Lace Headband

Standard

Supplies: 36″ thin lace ribbon, 3/4″ thin braided elastic, sewing machine or needle and thread, ribbon and hot glue for finishing (optional)

Time: 10-30 minutes

I recently found a tutorial for a beautiful lace headband and I knew I had to try it.  Turns out, it’s really easy to make too!

Measure out two 18″ strands of lace ribbon and one 3/4″ length of braided elastic.  (By the way, these two supplies cost me under three dollars and there’s a lot left!)  I like a looser headband, so in the future I’ll probably try a little more lace.  It never hurts to experiment, especially when the supplies are so cheap!

Overlap the ends of the strands with 1/2″-3/4″ overlapping.  Put the elastic on the overlap and pin it in place.  Repeat on the other side.

At this point you can either whip out the needle and thread or head to the sewing machine.  I decided to hand sew my headband (the sewing machine is easier to photograph) and it came together very quickly.

Sorry about the blur!

The tutorial says you can leave it like this, but I decided to take the suggested “more finished” route.  I have some red satin ribbon that I decided to use.  Use a little hot glue and wrap the stitched parts of the headband to achieve something like this:

And that’s that!  If you check out the original tutorial she’ll show you how to do a cool hairdo with this headband.  It doesn’t look like this:

The headband is really pretty, but I know it’ll give me a headache- it doesn’t take much for me.  Since I can’t wear it I’m going to add it to my other headband giveaway!  Pop over to Day 27 and leave a comment and you’ll be in the running to win two headbands!

See you tomorrow with more delightful crafts!

~Alie

Leave a Reply

